The California Labor Commissioner’s office has issued a memo instructing employees to comply with overtime laws when they work overtime for the employer.
The memo, obtained by ABC News, instructs employees to report overtime for at least 24 hours, including the first two hours of each shift.
It also tells employees to take off overtime if they work more than 32 hours in a day.
If employees fail to comply, the memo advises employees to be held liable for damages.
Employees who are subject to overtime regulations must notify their employer of the overtime regulations by using the California Labor Code and providing the employer with a written record of the violation.
They also must make a written report of the incident within 48 hours of the day the violation occurred.
The California Labor Commission, which administers the overtime law, does not enforce the overtime rules.
The agency is also not a party to the labor arbitration agreements.ABC News’ Julie Carey contributed to this report.